Athens' Estes named NTL Large School Player of the Year.

By: The Review | Towanda Daily Review | December 4, 2012


Athens' defensive standout Mike Estes was named the NTL Large School coaches Player of the Year Monday.

His teammate John Canfield was named the Lineman of the Year while the Offensive Player of the Year was Troy's Jed Wright and the Defensive Player of the Year Towanda's Dave Canfield.

Troy was named the Coaching Staff of the Year.

On First Team offense, Troy's Jed Wright was named the quarterback while the two running backs are Wellsboro's Jermain Brooks and Athens' Tyler Birdsall. Estes was named the fullback.

Wildcat Ray McDougan made the First Team for versatility while teammate Brad Sampson was named on the First Team as a wide receiver. The wide out was North Penn's Sam Bohnert.

Athens' Curt Moore was the tight end while his brother Craig Moore was named the center. The three guards are Troy's Coty Kendall, Athens' Tom Shenot and North Penn's Isaiah Compton while the two tackles are Athens' John Canfield and Towanda's David Canfield.

The First Team also had two kickers, Troy's Josh McClaren and Athens' Troy Stivason.

On the Defensive side of the ball the First Team defensive tackles were Troy's Connor Voorhees and Athens' Canfield while the two ends are Towanda's Canfield and Athens' Craig Moore.

The two inside linebackers are Estes and Wyalusing's Dylan Otis while the two outside linebackers are Wildcat Casey Clark and Trojan Nick Stephani.

The strong safety is Athens' Austin Depew while the two free safeties are Athens' Brad Sampson and Black Knight Trey Sites.

Troy's Justin Bradley and Athens' Ray McDougan were named the two corner backs while Stivason was named the punter.

The Second Team offense had North Penn's Taylor Hillson at quarterback and Troy's Nick Stephani at fullback. The two running backs are Troy's Brandon Mattocks and Athens' Austin Depew while Wellsboro's Ben Shaw was named as the versatility player.

The two wide outs are Wyalusing's Tyler Fenton and Towanda's Brandon Dinelli with Wellsboro's Dan Saniga the tight end.

Green Hornet Connor Coolidge was named the center, Towanda's Dan Corbett and Ram Caleb Johnson were named the guards while Troy's Hayden Nowacoski and North Penn's Chris Makley were named the two tackles.

Defensively for the second team was Wellsboro's Thomas Straniere, Towanda's Corbett and North Penn's Makley at defensive tackle along with Troy's Walker West and Curt Moore at the ends.

Troy's Kyle Shucker and North Penn's Noah Corwin were the two inside linebackers while Towanda's Justin Hunsinger and Athens' Shane Martin named the two outside linebackers.

North Penn's Hillson was named the strong safety, with Wyalusing's Brandon Davis and Troy's Wright the two free safeties. Hornet Michael Pietropola and Knight Brandon Dinelli were named the two corner backs with Wyalusing's Fenton the punter.

On honorable mention offense at quarterback are Athens' Stivason, Towanda's Sites and Wellsboro's Pietropola while at fullback it is Towanda's Justin Hunsinger, Wellsboro's Wyatt Covert and Wyalusing's Otis.

At running back is Wyalusing's Tim Ace while at versatility it is North Penn's Bryce Zaparzynski and Towanda's Noah Huff.

The wide receivers are Athens' Garrett Clark and Wellsboro's Konnor Spencer while the tight end is Towanda's Austin Markel.

The four centers are Towanda's Nick Place, North Penn's Nathan Kriner, Troy's Dylan Brennan and Wyalusing's Devin Masters; the two guards are Troy's Chad Cole and Wellsboro's Blake Gamble and the two tackles are Wellsboro's Eli Kennedy and Athens' Scott Laidlaw.

The two kickers are Wellsboro's Jack Chambers and Towanda's Place.

Defensively for honorable mention Wyalusing's Johnson, Troy's Briar Jenkins, Towanda's Place and Athens' Laidlaw made it as defensive tackles while Wellsboro's Saniga and Wyalusing's Paul Fusco made it as defensive ends.

Towanda's Dakotah Manning and Wyalusing's Jeremy Allyn made it as inside linebackers while Wyalusing's Fenton, Wellsboro's Shaw and Covert and Troy's Isaac Havens were selected as outside linebackers.

The three strong safeties are Wyalusing's Brandon Kelley, Troy's Brandon Mattocks and Towanda's Tony Daniello while the three corner backs selected were Wyalusing's Ace, North Penn's Lucas Groover and Athens' Luke Webster.

The two punters were Troy's McClaren and North Penn's Sam Rotella.

The photos will be this Sunday, 6:00 p.m. at Canton High School.