Wellsboro's Henry All-Region Player of the Year.

By: The Review | Towanda Daily Review | December 25, 2017


For the second year in a Wellsboro's Quinn Henry was named The Daily and Sunday Review 2017 football Player of the Year.

Henry led the Hornets to another NTL title and doing it in impressive fashion as he both threw and ran for over 1,000 yards on the year while scoring 40 touchdowns (13 passing and 27 rushing).

Athens' Zack Jayne is the Offensive Player of the Year. Jayne rushed for over 2,000 yards and scored over 30 touchdowns, setting two teams records in the process.

Wellsboro's Hunter Brown is the Defensive Player of the Year. Brown had 72 tackles, two interceptions, seven sacks and five recovered fumbles as he led a Hornet defense that allowed less than 10 points per game.

Wyalusing's Creighton Edsell is the Newcomer of the Year. Edsell didn't start until the middle of the season but anchored Wyalusing's ground game to the tune of 92.1 yards per game and 11 touchdowns on the season. He was key in their district title.

Canton's Timmy Ward is the Breakout Star. After showing promise in 2016 Ward broke out in a big way in 2017 with over 50 catches and 900 yards.

Tioga took the next three awards: Lineman of the Year - Scott Siberski, Most Dangerous - Nick Klossner and Coach of the Year - Nick Aiello.

Siberski was lead blocker for the vaunted Tioga running game that averaged over 300 yards per contest.

Klossner was dangerous on both sides of the ball, averaging 19.2 yards per catch with eight touchdowns and 558 yards for the season. Defensively he had multiple interceptions on the year.

Aiello returned the Tigers promise after last year's first round exit. Tioga won their sixth sectional title in seven years while also reaching the state semi-finals six times in that same timespan.

On first team offense is Henry (QB), Jayne (RB), Towanda's Zane Neubert (RB), NP-Mansfield's Brendan Hill (RB), Ward (WR), Towanda's Luke Tama (WR), Notre Dame's Kyreese Fisher (WR), Wyalusing's Jon Morrison (TE), NP-Mansfield's Justin Kriner (OL), Wyalusing's Mikey Wilcox (OL), Wellsboro's Collin Pietropola (OL), Towanda's Seth Johnson (OL), Siberski (OL), Tioga's Tanner Kunkle (K), Notre Dame's Gary Raupers (versatility), CV's Matt Barber (utility) and Waverly's Paul Girolamo (honorary).

On first team defense is Athens' Gavin Corino (DT), Wellsboro's Robert Brown (DT), Hunter Brown (DE), Athens' Matt Robbins (DE), Wyalusing's Creighton Edsell (LB), Tioga's Trey Floyd (LB), Waverly's Dalton Loper (LB), Canton's Kaden Martell (LB), NP-Mansfield's Garrett David (LB), Jayne (LB), Wellsboro's Alex Kozuhowski (DB), Athens' Kaden Rude (DB), Towanda's Dalton Potter (DB), Klossner (DB), Tioga's DeMario Chambers (utility) and Troy's Seldon Rogers (punter).

On second team offense is Towanda's Tanner Kunkle (QB), NP-Mansfield's Brent Burleigh (QB), Tioga's Connor Hutchinson (QB) and Justin Rockwell (RB), Notre Dame's Erik Charnetski (RB), Waverly's Matt VanHouten (WR), Sayre's Gage Carnrike (WR), Wellsboro's Dalton Prough (WR), Canton's Levi Gaiotti (TE), Towanda's Isaac Pelka (TE), NP-Mansfield's Camdyn Davis (OL), Troy's Jack Imbt (OL), Towanda's Braydin Ryck (OL), Tioga's Austin Lamb (OL), Sayre's Geno McCarty (OL), Wellsboro's Chase Moser (utility), Troy's Ja Wallace (versatility) and Wellsboro's Nic Ingerick (kicker).

On second team defense is Waverly's Dewain Talada (DT), Towanda's Wyatt Ferris (DT), CV's Caleb Hurd (DT), Notre Dame's Jack Chapman (DE), Wellsboro's Zach Florio (DE), Troy's Bailey Cohick (LB), Sayre's Nate Garrity (LB), Wellsboro's Brent English (LB), NPM's Kipp Hillson (LB), Wyalusing's Ed Mapes (LB) and Will Martin (DB), Towanda's Griffin Sites (DB) and Preston Rogers (DB), CV's Thomas Shadle (DB) and Waverly's Eithan McEnulty (punter).

On third team offense is Waverly's Gavin Judson (QB), Canton's Michael Smithers (QB), Tioga's Max Johnson (FB), Waverly's David Hallett (RB), Wellsboro's Aidan Hauser (RB), Waverly's Ethan Lloyd (WR), NPM's Dylan Wesneski (WR), Wyalusing's Riley God (WR), Athens' Keagan Rude (WR), Waverly's Scott Woodring (TE), Towanda's Joe Garris (OL), Troy's Josh Swain (OL), Sayre's Brandon Northrup (OL) and Jake Ressler (OL), Towanda's Talon Bennett (OL), Athens' Jared Williams (OL), Troy's Clark Jackson (versatility), Wyalusing's Shane Fuhrey (utility) and Waverly's Nate Bowers (kicker).

On third team defense is Wyalusing's Dylan Merritt (DT), Canton's Sawyer Wooster (DT), Notre Dame's Hunter Homerda (DT), Sayre's Zach Belles (DT), Wyalusing's Bryton Barna (DE), Notre Dame's Ben Cook (DE) and Nick Clark (DB), Canton's Camden Smith (DB), NPM's Judson Wise (DB), Wellsboro's Silas Wagaman (DB), Tioga's John Worthing (DB), Wyalusing's Calvin Burke (DB), NPM's Naseer Burzak (LB), CV's Cole Gruver (LB), Waverly's Thomas Price (LB), Sayre's Isaiah Firestine (LB), Notre Dame's Dylan Treat (LB), Waverly's Montana Davis (LB), Waverly's Montana Davis (LB), Towanda's Lacin Terry (LB) and Ryan Bartholomew (LB) and Canton's Nick May (punter).

The five newcomers to watch are: Terry, Price, Canton's Uriah Baille, Fuhrey and Troy's Jake Deitrick.